Discovering your child’s love language


Do you know your child’s love language? This was so interesting to learn and think about. Everyone’s in the spirit for Valentine’s Day, so of course everything is centered around love. I was reading a magazine article, and this question was asked to significant others. I decided to put a twist on it. What’s your child’s love language? There are five types of love languages. Quality time, physical touch, acts of service, words of affirmation, and receiving gifts. 

Mckenzie’s love languages are physical touch and words of affirmation. She loves to cuddle and be close to those who she loves. Mckenzie also loves to be praised (a true princess). She likes compliments. “Your hair looks so pretty”, “you’re such a big girl, great job”. Nasir’s love languages are acts of service and physical touch. Nasir loves when I’m teaching/helping him with tasks or something new, one on one. Not to brag, but he is the sweetest, most selfless 1-year-old. He will share anything with you, food and toys included. Nasir also gives the best hugs. He will squeeze you so tight, and even pat you on the back lol.

Here’s the breakdown:

Quality time

Soaking in each other’s company. Doing their favorite activities, no distractions + undivided attention.

Physical touch

Kisses, hugs, high-fives, holding hands. This gives your little love a sense of safety and belonging. It’s the most direct way to communicate love.

Acts of service 

Willing and freely helping + sharing. Doing simple tasks to demonstrate love + care.

Words of affirmation 

Supportive words that give reassurance, they value hearing “I love you” or “that was so nice of you” etc.

Receiving Gifts

The thoughtfulness + effort shows a token of your love.